top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshlyn Glover

Five Types of Autism

Autism, or autism spectrum disorder (ASD), is a broad range of conditions in social skills, speech, and nonverbal communication. Autism is well known by many, but some may not be aware of the broad spectrum for autism. There are five different types of diagnosis when it comes to autism. The level 1 Autism Spectrum Disorder, Rett Syndrome, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder, Kanner’s Syndrome, and Pervasive Developmental Disorder.

The first type of autism is level 1 ASD. People with this diagnosis have normal or above average intelligence and strong verbal skills, but they struggle in social communication. Many people describe this type as “high functioning” autism because of the strong intelligence that follows. Most people with level 1 ASD do not have a speech impairment, and usually take serious interest in one or two activities or subjects.

The second type of autism is Rett Syndrome. In recent years, it hasn’t been considered a part of the spectrum; however, it affects mostly young girls. Symptoms associated with Rett Syndrome are social and communication issues along with impaired ability to use hands.

The third type of autism is Childhood Disintegrative Disorder. These children start by developing normally until they hit the age of two and begin regressing. This specific type of autism can be especially hard for the parents, causing fear. Doctors also associated this syndrome with seizures.

The fourth type of autism is Kanner’s Syndrome, also known as Classic Autism Syndrome. Symptoms include challenges with communicating and understanding others as well as a hypersensitivity to human senses such as smell and touch.

The fifth type of autism is Pervasive Development Disorder. This type is generally less severe than others. Most children with this disorder have trouble keeping up with other developing children, such as challenges with speaking or walking.

Works Cited

“What Is Autism?” Autism Speaks, Autism Speaks Inc., Accessed 2 June 2021.

Iprovadmin. “What Are the 5 Different Types of Autism?” Integrity, Inc, 23 July 2019,

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Autism Spectrum Disorder in Children

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD), commonly known as “autism,” is a developmental disorder that affects many people. Autism is lifelong, meaning that it is not curable, but there are ways to streamline t

Autism: Fact vs. Fiction

Within society today, it has become increasingly common that the effects and challenges individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) experience to be misconstrued, misunderstood, or falsely labelle

Maternal Mortality Among Black Women

Black women face disproportionately high rates of death during childbirth or pregnancy. Institutionalized racism and income inequality have created barriers that made accessing necessary medical care


bottom of page